Looking for a book, DVD, CD, or other item? Search our catalog!

Tuesday, January 24, 2017

2017 Youth Media Award Winners

Yesterday, at the American Library Association winter conference held in Atlanta, the winners of this year's youth awards were announced. The winner of the John Newbery Medal "for the most outstanding contribution to children's literature" is The Girl Who Drank the Moon by Kelly Barnhill [J BAR]. The winner of the Randolph Caldecott Medal "for the most distinguished American picture book for children" is Radiant: The Story of Young Artist Jean-Michel Basquiat illustrated and written by Javaka Steptoe [on order].

The Coretta Scott King Book Award "recognizing an African-American author and illustrator of outstanding books for children and young adults" goes to John Lewis and Andrew Aydin, authors, and Nate Powell, illustrator for March: Book Three [YA CX LEW].

The Michael L. Printz Award "for excellence in literature written for young adults," was also awarded to March: Book Three.

Theodor Seuss Geisel Award "for the most distinguished beginning reader book" goes to We Are Growing! by Laurie Keller [E KEL].

For a complete list of all the award winners and honor books, click here.

No comments:

Post a Comment